Granbury Native Wins Taft Scholarship

The 2010 winner of the Harold Taft Scholarship is Lauryn Gonzalez, a native of Granbury, Texas. She is in her junior year, pursuing a Meteorology Major at the University of Oklahoma. 

In her scholarship application, Gonzalez wrote, "As a broadcast meteorologist, I want to warn people when dangerous storm cells approach, tornadic activity threatens, winter driving conditions become hazardous, tropical activity becomes risky, and the list goes on."

"My ideal job consists of presenting weather forecasts for a news station in Dallas, Texas.  I wish to work in Dallas because it is close to where I grew up."

Chief Meteorologist David Finfrock serves as chair of the committee for the Scholarship program. Thanks to a generous donation from NBC DFW/KXAS-TV, the Lone Star Emmy Educational Foundation developed an annual college scholarship fund in the memory of Harold Taft, who served as Chief Meteorologist at KXAS-TV from 1949 until 1991.

The inaugural winner was Texas A&M graduate Jorge Torres, who is now a meteorologist at KVIA-TV in El Paso, Texas.

Lauryn will be recognized at the Lone Star Emmy Awards Gala at Gilley's in Dallas on Saturday October 16, 2010.

More: Harold Taft Scholarship

Contact Us