DSO Announces “Masters of Film Music” Series

Series to premiere works from famous film composers

Cinemaphiles and classical music fans both have something new to look forward to from the Dallas Symphony Orchestra.

In a what the symphony is calling "a monumental new project," the DSO will bring the film music of composers such as James Newton Howard (Pretty Woman, King Kong), George Fenton (Gahdi, Planet Earth), and Michael Giacchino (Lost, Star Trek, The Incredibles) to the Meyerson in multi-media experience including career retrospectives and a DSO-commissioned world premiere work written by each composer.

Nabbing one or two of these names (check out the whole list below, as they're very impressive) would have been a coup for the group, but nailing all these currently working, well-respected film composers is -- in our eyes -- freaking awesome.

Check out the wealth of info on each of these talented folks in the full press release from the DSO:


Multi-Year Initiative to Begin with 2010-2011 Season

DALLAS, TX - The Dallas Symphony Orchestra today announces a new multi-year programming initiative: the Masters of Film Music. This ground-breaking new series brings the music of some of today's top film composers to Dallas as part of the 2010-2011 and 2011-2012 Dallas Symphony Pops Series. The Masters of Film Music will feature a Dallas Symphony Orchestra-commissioned world premiere work written by each composer, combined with a multi-media career retrospective with images on a larger-than-life screen.

The top composers whose world premiere commissions and career retrospectives will be featured in the Masters of Film Music are James Newton Howard, George Fenton, Theodore Shapiro, Michael Giacchino, Harry Gregson-Williams, and an evening of the "All Time Great Music of Film" which will also feature a new work by up-and-coming composer Sir Anthony Hopkins, conducted by DSO Music Director Jaap van Zweden.

"This project is revolutionary in the sense that we are combining the works of the top living film composers, whose music is heard by millions of people around the world, with the artistic power of the Dallas Symphony," said Dallas Symphony Orchestra Chief Marketing and Entertainment Officer Stephen Cook. "The DSO is taking the lead in innovative programming, combining the great music of the movies with the powerful sound of the orchestra. I know our patrons will be thrilled with the result."

"This new aspect of our Pops Series pairs some of the most recognizable film scores ever written with the incredible talent of our orchestra," Dallas Symphony Orchestra President Douglas Adams stated. "To hear this music performed in the acoustical perfection of the Meyerson Symphony Center will be a treat for any music lover."

About the Composers

James Newton Howard is one of the most versatile and in-demand composers currently working in film. A look back on Howard's impressive film career will include music from movies such as Pretty Woman, The Sixth Sense, King Kong, I am Legend, The Village, Michael Clayton, The Fugitive, The Dark Knight (with Hans Zimmer), My Best Friend's Wedding and many more. To date, Howard has received eight Oscar nominations, including five for Best Original Score, five Grammy nominations, one Emmy Award and four Golden Globe nominations. In addition, he was honored with ASCAP's prestigious Henry Mancini Award for Lifetime Achievement.

British composer George Fenton is best known for his musical work for film, television and theatre. He has written the music for over 70 feature films and has collaborated with some of the most influential filmmakers of the late 20th century. Among his many film credits are Gandhi (with Ravi Shankar,) The Fisher King, Dangerous Liaisons, Hitch, The Madness of King George, Memphis Belle and many more. Fenton also composed the score to the hit television series Planet Earth and Blue Planet.

Theodore Shapiro has composed music for film, television and the concert stage. His ability to turn humor into music has lent itself to such blockbuster films as Marley and Me, The Devil Wears Prada, Old School, You, Me & Dupree and countless others. Shapiro has composed the score for several Ben Stiller-produced comedies including Tropic Thunder, Blades of Glory, Dodgeball and Starsky & Hutch, and other notable films like 13 Going on 30 and Year One.

Emmy Award-Winner Michael Giacchino has not only scored several well-known feature films, he has also composed music for television shows, animated shorts and video games. Giacchino has penned the music for such films as UP, Mission Impossible III, Star Trek, The Incredibles and Ratatouille, for which he received an Oscar nomination. His compositions have brought joy and laughter to the entertainment world and have earned him immense respect over the years. Giacchino also earned an Emmy for his work on the ABC hit show Lost.

Award-Winning British film composer Harry Gregson-Williams has scored numerous motion picture films, television and video games. Williams got his big break while working under Oscar-winning film composer, Hans Zimmer, in the mid-'90s and since then has successfully made a name for himself in Hollywood. With over 60 motion picture films under his belt, including Shrek 1, 2 and 3, The Chronicles of Narnia Series, X Men Origins: Wolverine and the upcoming film, The Prince of Persia, Williams has also composed for television shows, commercials and video games.

In addition to his award-winning film career, Sir Anthony Hopkins is also establishing himself as a composer. His numerous compositions include music from the films Slipstream and August, Stella Aria, The Mask of Time and Fanfare, among others. Considered to be one of film's greatest actors, Hopkins is perhaps best known for his Oscar-winning turn as Hannibal Lecter in The Silence of the Lambs. Other notable films include The Elephant Man, Howards End, The Remains of the Day, Shadowlands, Legends of the Fall, Nixon, Amistad, Proof and many more. Hopkins will join Music Director Jaap van Zweden and the DSO in a performance of "The All Time Great Music of Film" during the 2011-2012 Dallas Symphony Pops Series.

Contact Us