Carrollton and Farmers Branch Pick Mayors, Other Cities Settle Council Vacancies in Saturday Runoff

Carrollton and Farmers Branch will choose mayors in Saturday runoff elections. Voters are also being called back to the polls in several other suburbs where no candidate landed a majority of the vote May 6. Three council members will be seated in McKinney and two in both Arlington and Plano. Allen, Cedar Hill, Frisco, Garland and Murphy also have council runoffs.Former City Council member Steve Babick, who is in finance, and architect Kevin Falconer are the choices for mayor of Carrollton. Falconer led the May 6 election with more than 46 percent of the vote, with Babick making the runoff by gaining 28 percent in the initial four-way race.Real estate developer Robert Dye and former City Council member Harold Froehlich, who is in finance and real estate, are vying to lead the city of Farmers Branch. Froehlich finished with 43 percent of the vote and Dye with 34 percent in the city's four-way May 6 race. The contest has become somewhat heated, and controversial postcards connected to the election were the subject of a recent court filing.   Continue reading...

Read More

Copyright DFW-MorningNews
Contact Us