Seven Roughriders Named to Texas League All-Star Game Roster - NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth
Red Fever
Complete coverage of the Texas Rangers

Seven Roughriders Named to Texas League All-Star Game Roster

Texas League All-Star Game is June 27 at Dr. Pepper Ballpark in Frisco



    Under the Tucson Sun

    The Roughriders will be well represented at the Texas League All-Star Game later this month at Dr. Pepper Ballpark in Frisco.

    Pitcher Yohander Mendez is among seven Frisco players selected to this year’s All-Star team. Mendez is 4-3 with a 3.36 ERA in 12 starts this season. The lefty is the top-rated prospect according to and the second-ranked prospect in the Rangers organization. Mendez is one of three All-Stars ranked on’s Top-100 prospects.

    Right-handers Ariel Jurado , Collin Wiles and Cody Palmquist will join Mendez on the pitching staff for the South Division. Jurado, the Rangers No. 3 prospect, is 7-4 with a 3.98 ERA in 13 starts.

    Jose Cardona will likely get one of the starting spots in the outfield. Cardona is hitting .328 with 22 RBI and .814 OPS in 49 games.  Jose Trevino and Isiah Kiner-Falefa were named as reserves on the roster. Head coach Joe Mikulik and his staff will run the show on the field.

    The Texas League All-Star Game will be on Tuesday, June 27 at Dr. Pepper Ballpark. Gates open at 3:30 p.m. for the All-Star Game FanFest. The Celebrity Softball Game will follow at 5:15 p.m. Former Rangers Michael Young and David Murphy were named team captains.