MLB Names LCS Crew Chiefs - NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth
Red Fever
Complete coverage of the Texas Rangers

MLB Names LCS Crew Chiefs



    Major League Baseball has named the two umpiring crews for the upcoming League Championship Series.

    In the American League, the Rangers-Tigers matchup will be umpired by Tim Welke's crew. Welke is behind the plate and joined by Larry Vanover at first, Jim Wolf at second, Fieldin Culbreth at third, Jeff Nelson at left and Tom Hallion at right.

    Welke, with a different crew, umpired the Rangers-Rays ALDS in 2010.  He is a 28-year veteran of MLB and has had 17 postseason assignments.

    On the National League side, Gary Darling will be behind the plate with Tim Timmons at first, Sam Holbrook at second, Mike Everitt and third, Bill Miller at left field and Mike Winters at right.

    Darling is the crew chief and has 25-years in the majors with 14 career postseason assignments.