Witten, Ware Are Your Cowboys Pro Bowlers - NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth
Blue Star
The center of the Dallas Cowboys universe

Witten, Ware Are Your Cowboys Pro Bowlers

Jason Witten and DeMarcus Ware were the only Cowboys voted to the Pro Bowl in 2012



    Tight end Jason Witten and outside linebacker DeMarcus Ware have been named as the only two Cowboys to be voted the NFC Pro Bowl Team.

    Ware currently has 11.5 sacks and five forced fumbles on the season, while playing through a slew of various injuries, most recently a dislocated elbow and strained shoulder. It will be his seventh consecutive appearance in the game. He will start on the NFC’s defense alongside the 49ers’ Aldon Smith.

    “What an honor and privilege it is to be voted to the Pro Bowl by the fans, coaches and players around the league,” Ware said in a statement, per ESPN Dallas. “I know how difficult it is to make it to the game, and I appreciate the support from everyone. I look forward to not only representing the NFC, but also the entire Dallas Cowboys organization.”

    Jason Witten, meanwhile, weathered a rough start to the 2012 season to break the NFL’s single-season record for receptions by a tight end with 103, and was rewarded with his eighth career Pro Bowl nod. He will serve as the backup to starter Tony Gonzalez of the Falcons, whose record he broke.

    “It is always an honor to get voted, especially when a portion of the vote comes from your peers around the league,” Witten said. “I have a lot of respect for this league and the players that make up this league. I know how many great players there are around the NFL, and to be selected is very humbling.”

    Stay on top of the latest Dallas Cowboys news with NBCDFW.com. Follow NBC DFW on Facebook or have breaking Cowboys news sent directly to your phone with Blue Star SMS alerts. Text "bluestar" to 622339 (NBCDFW) to subscribe, text HELP for more info, and text STOP to end the subscription. Message and data rates may apply.Read more about it here.