S Barry Church to Receive Ed Block Courage Award - NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth
Blue Star
The center of the Dallas Cowboys universe

S Barry Church to Receive Ed Block Courage Award

Church will receive the award Monday night at the Cowboys annual awards dinner



    Cowboys safety Barry Church will be honored as the team’s recipient of the 2013 Ed Block Courage Award on Monday at the annual awards dinner.

    The award, named after the longtime Baltimore Colts trainer, is voted on by players. It honors the player who exemplifies “inspiration, sportsmanship and courage.”

    Church bounced back from a torn Achilles, suffered in Week 3 of the 2012 season, to lead the team with 135 tackles in 2013. He also had an interception, six passes broken up, three forced fumbles and a fumble recovery. He was recognized by USA Today as a member of the "All-Joe" team for his troubles.

    Church joins Jason Witten (2012), Tony Romo (2011), Sam Hurd (2010) and Kyle Kosier (2009) as recent players to receive the honor.

    Stay on top of the latest Dallas Cowboys news with NBCDFW.com. Follow NBC DFW on Facebook or have breaking Cowboys news sent directly to your phone with Blue Star SMS alerts. Text "bluestar" to 622339 (NBCDFW) to subscribe, text HELP for more info, and text STOP to end the subscription. Message and data rates may apply.Read more about it here.