Report: Cowboys Name Five Captains - NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth
Blue Star
The center of the Dallas Cowboys universe

Report: Cowboys Name Five Captains

Not surprisingly, Tony Romo is one of the five



    The Dallas Cowboys have named their team captains, according to Mike Fisher of 105.3-FM The Fan and, and there are five of them.

    A couple of old standards were selected on offense, in Tony Romo and Jason Witten, and one old standard on defense, in DeMarcus Ware. The other defensive captain is fourth-year linebacker Sean Lee. The special teams captain is kicker Dan Bailey, who has emerged as the most reliable Cowboys place kicker in recent memory.

    In a taped address that was shown to the team at the outset of training camp, Garrett stressed the importance of leadership.

    “You want guys who are leaders,’’ Garrett said. “Step up and be a [expletive] leader. Lead this football team. Lead it!”

    Stay on top of the latest Dallas Cowboys news with Follow NBC DFW on Facebook or have breaking Cowboys news sent directly to your phone with Blue Star SMS alerts. Text "bluestar" to 622339 (NBCDFW) to subscribe, text HELP for more info, and text STOP to end the subscription. Message and data rates may apply.Read more about it here.