Five Cowboys Headed to Pro Bowl - NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth
Blue Star
The center of the Dallas Cowboys universe

Five Cowboys Headed to Pro Bowl



    Five Dallas Cowboys were selected for the Pro Bowl, the team announced Tuesday.

    Tight end Jason Witten, center Andre Gurode, outside linebacker DeMarcus Ware, nose tackle Jay Ratliff and punter Mat McBriar were all named starters on the NFC team.

    Gurode's fifth consecutive nod is more than any other Cowboys center, while Witten's seventh straight Pro Bowl appearance will be the most by a Cowboys tight end.

    Witten said in a statement that his selection is an honor.

    "I have been fortunate enough to play in several Pro Bowls, but I am still humble because I know how many great players there are in this league," he said. "I was hoping for a better season for our team, but, individually, you try to be one of the best at your position. Going to the Pro Bowl is a great experience and an honor.”

    Ware's nod marks his fifth selection to the Pro Bowl.

    “It’s an honor and privilege to be nominated to the Pro Bowl by the players, coaches and fans," he said in a statement. "I take pride in being consistent in what I do, and this is just a great honor. Obviously, we wanted to do better as a team, but this is a nice way to be recognized individually.”

    Ratliff is heading to the Pro Bowl for the third time, while McBriar snagged his second nod.

    McBriar said in a statement that he is looking forward to going to Honolulu.

    "I’m really excited, and it’s an awesome feeling," he said. "I was very happy when I got the call. It’s extra special for me since I went to school there, and I get to catch up with some of the people I went to school with. The first time was a really neat experience, I’m going to make the most of it again.”

    The Pro Bowl will be played in Honolulu on Jan. 30.

    More:2011 Pro Bowl rosters