DeMarco Murray Named to Pro Bowl - NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth
Blue Star
The center of the Dallas Cowboys universe

DeMarco Murray Named to Pro Bowl

Murray will be an injury replacement for the 49ers' Frank Gore



    The Dallas Cowboys now have five players in the Pro Bowl.

    Per NBC 5's Newy Scruggs and multiple media reports, running back DeMarco Murray was announced as an injury replacement for the San Francisco 49ers’ Frank Gore on Monday night. In Honolulu, he will join teammates WR Dez Bryant, LT Tyron Smith, DT Jason Hatcher and TE Jason Witten.

    Of the five Dallas representatives in the game, four--including Murray--are first timers. Witten is the only one who has been to the Pro Bowl before, and he’s now been to nine.

    Murray finished 2013 with 217 carries, 1,124 yards and nine touchdowns while playing in 14 games--all career highs.

    Of course, these Cowboys could end up facing each other, an option that wasn’t on the table in previous Pro Bowls. This year, rather than it being an AFC-NFC affair, team captains Deion Sanders and Jerry Rice will serve as team captains and draft their teams (more or less) playground style.

    Stay on top of the latest Dallas Cowboys news with Follow NBC DFW on Facebook or have breaking Cowboys news sent directly to your phone with Blue Star SMS alerts. Text "bluestar" to 622339 (NBCDFW) to subscribe, text HELP for more info, and text STOP to end the subscription. Message and data rates may apply.Read more about it here.