Cowboys Lead NFL With 5 Pro Bowl Starters - NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth
Blue Star
The center of the Dallas Cowboys universe

Cowboys Lead NFL With 5 Pro Bowl Starters



    A couple weeks ago, we posted a bit about how the fan ballot for this season’s Pro Bowl reflected the utter misery of the 2010 season, with the Dallas Cowboys being poorly represented in the voting. DeMarcus Ware fared the best of any Cowboy, at second, behind Green Bay’s Clay Matthews at outside linebacker.

    But after the players and coaches vote, which took place last week, the Cowboys won’t just be well represented. They’ll be better represented than any other team in the NFL, at least with respect to starters.

    Five--count ‘em, five Cowboys will start in this year’s Pro Bowl. Jason Witten, DeMarcus Ware, Jay Ratliff, Andre Gurode and Mat McBriar will all start for the NFC in this year’s game, which is sort of the football equivalent of the MLB All-Star Game, only in no way interesting or fun to watch.

    It’s hard to argue against any of these selections, really, but it is shocking that a team with a total of five wins on the year would be so eminently present at the Pro Bowl. Only the Atlanta Falcons and the New England Patriots have more players on the Pro Bowl roster, with seven and six, respectively.

    Stay on top of the latest Dallas Cowboys news with Follow NBC DFW Sports on Facebook or have breaking Cowboys news sent directly to your phone with Blue Star SMS alerts. Text "bluestar" to 622339 (NBCDFW) to subscribe to this free service.  Read more about it here.