Cowboys DeMarco Murray Wins Offensive Player of The Year - NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth
Blue Star
The center of the Dallas Cowboys universe

Cowboys DeMarco Murray Wins Offensive Player of The Year



    Under the Tucson Sun
    Getty Images
    ARLINGTON, TX - JANUARY 04: DeMarco Murray #29 of the Dallas Cowboys celebrates after running for a touchdown against the Detroit Lions during the second half of their NFC Wild Card Playoff game at AT&T Stadium on January 4, 2015 in Arlington, Texas. (Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images)

    DeMarco Murray has run off with The Associated Press NFL Offensive Player Of The Year award for the 2014 season.

    The Dallas Cowboys running back led the league in rushing with 1,845 yards -- nearly 500 more than any other player -- and also topped the NFL with 2,261 yards from scrimmage. He scored 13 touchdowns in helping Dallas win the NFC East.
    Those overwhelming performances earned him 26 votes from a nationwide panel of 50 media members who regularly cover the NFL. Murray easily outdistanced Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers (15 votes). Pittsburgh wide receiver Antonio Brown was next with five, followed by teammate RB Le'Veon Bell with two.
    Patriots tight end Rob Gronkowski and Dallas QB Tony Romo got one vote apiece.
    Murray was presented the award at the "NFL Honors" show Saturday night.