Changes Coming For Hall of Fame Voting Process? - NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth
Blue Star
The center of the Dallas Cowboys universe

Changes Coming For Hall of Fame Voting Process?

Many voiced their displeasure after it was announced that, among others, Cris Carter, Charles Haley and Bill Parcells were left out of the class of 2012



    Not surprisingly, we’re already seeing some backlash from the Hall of Fame announcement last week.

    The voting committee admitted Curtis Martin, Willie Roaf, Dermontti Dawson, Cortez Kennedy and senior selection Jack Butler in 2012. But they notably left out Bill Parcells, who was eligible for the first time, as well as Cris Carter and five-time Super Bowl Champion Charles Haley.

    Many fans took to Twitter to voice their outrage, and now, one of the aforementioned inductees is suggesting a change to the way the voting process works.

    Willie Roaf said in a recent interview with ESPN 101 in St. Louis that he was honored to have been inducted, but suggested that some new ideas with respect to voting might be in order--including, possibly, setting term limits for voters.

    “I just think that looking on the outside looking in one step would be maybe a change up sometimes in the voters,” Roaf said, via ProFootballTalk. “If the committee switched up on the guys every five years or whatever I think some players would like to see some changes in who is doing the selection process every year because most of the time I think it’s the same voters that come in and do all the voting. Outside looking in I would like to see a little more change up on who votes.”

    We’re confident in saying that, after this year’s snubs, we doubt Roaf is alone in his thinking.

    Stay on top of the latest Dallas Cowboys news with Follow NBC DFW on Facebook or have breaking Cowboys news sent directly to your phone with Blue Star SMS alerts. Text "bluestar" to 622339 (NBCDFW) to subscribe to this free service. Read more about it here.