Blandino: Dez No-Catch Still Not a Catch - NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth
Blue Star
The center of the Dallas Cowboys universe

Blandino: Dez No-Catch Still Not a Catch



    Blandino: Dez No-Catch Still Not a Catch
    Getty Images
    GREEN BAY, WI - JANUARY 11: Dez Bryant #88 of the Dallas Cowboys waits for a replay on a call late in the fourth quarter against the Green Bay Packers during the 2015 NFC Divisional Playoff game at Lambeau Field on January 11, 2015 in Green Bay, Wisconsin. (Photo by Rob Carr/Getty Images)

    Guess what? We don't have breaking news here, the Cowboys aren't going to get to play in Seattle real fast to see who plays in Sunday's big game in Arizona.

    Instead, Dean Blandino, the NFL's vice president of officiating, is still talking this week at the Super Bowl about that fateful no-catch call in the Dallas Cowboys' loss to Green Bay when Dez Bryant made an unbelievable play but ultimately had his catch overturned by instant replay.

    “The football move aspect of it, when you talk about the process of the catch and the receiver is going to the ground, it doesn’t matter how many steps he takes,’’ Blandino told the Dallas Morning News. “He has to maintain control of the football throughout the action and contact with the ground. If he goes to the ground and the ball comes loose, it’s an incomplete pass.

    “In order for it to be a football move, OK, he has to gather himself and lunge and dive for the goal line. It has to be overt, it has to be obvious. When you watch that play at full speed, he [Bryant] is going to the ground, he’s trying to maintain possession of it, he doesn’t maintain possession as he hits the ground.

    “That’s why we ruled an incomplete pass. That’s the rule and that’s the consistent application of the rule.’’

    Oh well, maybe he'll change his mind next week.