Overton Disqualified At Colonial For Using Putting Aid

View Comments ()
|
Email
|
Print

    NEWSLETTERS

    NBC 5

    Jeff Overton was disqualified midway through the third round of the Colonial on Saturday for illegally using a putting aid during play.

    PGA Tour officials say Overton used an aid on a nearby practice green after playing the ninth hole while waiting to tee off at No. 10. 

    Going to the practice area is permissible during a round, but use of artificial or instructional devices isn't. The penalty is disqualification.

    Rules official Mark Russell says it's unfortunate but that the rule is "clear as day."

    Overton was 4 under for the tournament, seven strokes off the lead, when a PGA Tour official approached Overton after he teed off at the 11th hole. Russell says another player had asked officials about the use of the device.