Dallas Restaurant Inspections | NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth

Exposed: Some restaurants haven't been inspected in years

SEND YOUR TIPS TO

SEND YOUR TIPS TO:

1-800-566-5865

Chief Brown Talks with NBC 5 Investigates - Part 1

Chief Brown Talks with NBC 5 Investigates - Part 1

NBC 5 Investigates' Scott Friedman sat down with Dallas Police Chief David Brown to talk about his department's policies on the use of police computers while driving. Interview from March 2013.

Follow Us

About

An NBC 5 investigation found that more than 200 Dallas restaurants had not been inspected in at least two years.

Monday, Jun 25, 2012
NBC 5 Investigates: Dallas Hires Even More Restaurant Inspectors

NBC 5 Investigates: Dallas Hires Even More Restaurant Inspectors

A Dallas City Council committee agreed Monday to hire even more restaurant inspections after an NBC 5 Investigates report showed some restaurants had gone years between inspections. City leaders also gave a green light to a plan that could impact every restaurant in Dallas.

Monday, Jun 25, 2012
Dallas Debates Restaurant Inspection Measure

Dallas Debates Restaurant Inspection Measure

A City Council committee authorizes the writing of a measure that would require every restaurant worker to take a food-safety course. Read More

Friday, Mar 2, 2012
241 Restaurants Inspected After NBC 5 Report

241 Restaurants Inspected After NBC 5 Report

After an NBC 5 investigation found that more than 200 Dallas restaurants had not been inspected in at least two years, Dallas has inspected all of the establishments on the list. Read More

Wednesday, Feb 29, 2012
Dallas Promises Action on Restaurant Inspections

Dallas Promises Action on Restaurant Inspections

Dallas restaurants are supposed to be inspected twice per year, but NBC 5 has learned that only about 20 percent got two inspections last year. This story was published February 29, 2012 - 12:22 a.m.

Monday, Mar 26, 2012
Dallas to Hire More Restaurant Inspectors

Dallas to Hire More Restaurant Inspectors

Prompted by an NBC 5 investigation, the city of Dallas will be hiring more restaurant inspectors. Read More

Thursday, Apr 12, 2012
Dallas Considers Training for Restaurant Workers

Dallas Considers Training for Restaurant Workers

Dallas is debating sweeping changes in the wake of an NBC 5 investigation into restaurant inspections that found kitchens that had not been checked in years. A plan to require a training course for every restaurant worker in the city is among the ideas.

How We Did It

I appreciate your bringing it to our attention because that's absolutely critical that we have safe and healthy and clean restaurants. — Dallas Councilwoman Angela Hunt on NBC 5 Investigates probe into city restaurant inspections
Latest Tweets
Top Stories
  • SMU Officer McCullers Laid to Rest

    SMU Officer McCullers Laid to Rest

    Family, friends and law enforcement from across North Texas gathered Monday morning to honor an SMU officer killed in flash floods earlier this year.

  • Winners Announced for 2016 State Fair Food Awards

    Winners Announced for 2016 State Fair Food Awards

    The State Fair of Texas has named the winners of the 12th annual Big Tex Choice Awards.

  • Driver of Stolen Vehicle Dies in Crash During Chase: FWPD

    Driver of Stolen Vehicle Dies in Crash During Chase: FWPD

    Police say the person who stole a car died in a crash during a chase involving officers in Forest Hill early Monday morning.

  • Police Investigate Double Shooting in Forest Hill

    Police Investigate Double Shooting in Forest Hill

    Police in Forest Hill are investigating a double shooting at a hotel Monday morning.

  • Actor Gene Wilder, Star of 'Willy Wonka,' Dies at 83

    Actor Gene Wilder, Star of 'Willy Wonka,' Dies at 83

    Gene Wilder, the star of such comedy classics as "Young Frankenstein" and "Blazing Saddles," has died. He was 83.

    Wilder's nephew said Monday that the actor and writer died late Sunday in Stamford, Connecticut from complications from Alzheimer's disease.

  • Huma Abedin Announces Separation From Anthony Weiner

    Huma Abedin Announces Separation From Anthony Weiner

    Hillary Clinton aide Huma Abedin announced Monday that she was separating from her husband, former congressman and onetime New York City mayoral candidate Anthony Weiner.
    "After long and painful consideration and work on my marriage, I have made the decision to separate from my husband," Abedin said. "Anthony and I remain devoted to doing what is best for our son, who is the light of our life. During this difficult time, I ask for respect for our privacy."
    The announcement by Abedin, who currently serves as the vice chairwoman of Hillary Clinton's presidential campaign, comes hours after a New York Post report that Weiner was again sending sexually suggestive messages with at least one woman.

What's New
Get NBCDFW on Mobile!
Get NBCDFW's free news and weather apps on your iPad, iPhone, Android or other mobile device. Read more
Follow Us
Sign up to receive news and updates that matter to you.
Send Us Your Story Tips
Check Out