Red Fever
Complete coverage of the Texas Rangers

Beltre the 11th Ranger to Win a Gold Glove




    With his vacuum-like play at 3B, Rangers infielder Adrian Beltre became the 11th Texas Ranger to win a Gold Glove and the first since 2008.

    The Gold Glove is the third for Beltre in his career and he's won the award three out of the last five years.  The past two years it had been won by Tampa Bay's Evan Longoria.

    In 2011, Beltre had a .965 fielding percentage and had zero errors in his final 41 games of the season.

    Gold Gloves are presented for defensive excellence and are voted on by American League managers and coaches -- and you can't vote for your own team.

    Utility infielder Michael Young was the last Ranger to win a Gold Glove, which he did in 2008 for shortstop.

    Beltre is the second Texas Ranger to win the Gold Glove for play at third.  Buddy Bell won the award six consecutive times from 1979 - 1984.

    In their 41 year history in Arlington, 11 Texas Rangers have won 35 Gold Gloves.

    • Catcher Ivan Rodriguez won 10 consecutive Gold Gloves between 1992-2001.
    • Catcher Jim Sundberg won six consecutive Gold Gloves between 1976-1981.
    • Third baseman Buddy Bell won six consecutive Gold Gloves between 1979-1984.
    • Pitcher Kenny Rogers won four Gold Gloves in 2000, 2002, 2004 and 2005.
    • Shortstop Alex Rodriguez won two consecutive Gold Gloves in 2002-2003.
    • First baseman Mark Teixeira won two consecutive Gold Glvoes in 2005-2006.
    • Outfielder Juan Beniquez won a Gold Glove in 1977.
    • Outfielder Gary Pettis won a Gold Glove in 1990.
    • First baseman Rafael Palmeiro won a Gold Glove in 1999.
    • Shortstop Michael Young won a Gold Glove in 2008.
    • Third baseman Adrian Beltre won a Gold Glove in 2011.

    The Texas Rangers have never had a second baseman win a Gold Glove.  Look for Kinsler to win in 2012.